The 関西 (kansai) region is a unique region of Japan that is unlike any other, a region that is difficult to sum up in a few words. This region consists of six prefectures: Kyoto prefecture, Osaka prefecture, Hyogo prefecture, Nara prefecture, Wakayama prefecture, and Shiga prefecture.

The Kansai region is home to countless Buddhist temples, Shintō shrines, castles, and so on designated as a UNESCO World Heritage. On the other hand, this region is also known for some of the most energetic and outgoing people in the country, not to mention being home to many foods that are enjoyed across the country. While this region also boasts Kyoto prefecture for having become a popular tourist destination among foreign tourists in Japan, there are many places in this region that (almost) no tourists visit.

The Kansai region has many aspects similar to the Kantō region. For example, Osaka prefecture (Japan’s third most populated prefecture) is often compared with Tokyo, as it too is a megalopolis. However, there is much in the Kansai region that isn’t at all like the Kantō region, it has its own charm. As mentioned above, there are many buildings and so on in the region designated as a UNESCO World Heritage, so particularly those with an interest in Japanese history, those with an interest in traditional Japanese culture, are the ones who will adore this region. There are also many places in the Kansai region where traditional Japanese landscapes still exist. Upon seeing these beautiful landscapes, even those without much of an interest in Japanese culture will (on just one visit to the region) without a doubt become interested in the traditional side of Japan.

Kyoto prefecture, Kyoto, Ancient Capital, Japanese culture, Traditional culture, Japanese traditional culture, Tradition, Japan